Lime Cheesecake in the Raw

RawLimeCheesecake

So, yes, I am loving raw food! When I first heard the term “raw” though I immediately thought of carrot and celery sticks. I thought “what the?” how can raw food be appetising. Now don’t get me wrong, I do love fruit and vegetables but here I was wondering how can a plate of uncooked food be delicious???

Well have the recipes that I have come across proved me so totally wrong! It also helps that a lot more raw cafes are finally opening up here too so I get to try before I play at home.

I think I am loving the fact that I can play around with food to see just how close to the “real” or let’s say “naughty” version you can get. The Husband is also enjoying being the taste-tester and these Lime Cheesecakes were an absolute hit in our household.

Ingredients

Cheesecake Base

  • 1 cup almonds
  • ½ cup dates
  • 2 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt

Filling

  • 1½ cups raw cashew nuts
  • ¼ cup coconut milk
  • ½ cup fresh lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons of lime zest
  • 3 tablespoons of honey
  • 6 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • Dash of vanilla extract

Method

  1. Put all of the base ingredients in the food processor & blitz until it is fine but sticky
  2. Place 1 large tablespoon of the base mixture into the bottom of each muffin patty and press down. You should be able to make 6 – 8 bases
  3. Place in the freezer to set while you make the topping
  4. To make the topping place the cashew nuts in the food processor & process until you make cashew butter
  5. Add all of the other ingredients & whiz for a further minute
  6. Spoon the topping onto the base mixture & put back in the freezer to set for up to an hour
  7. About 15 minutes before you are ready to serve the cheesecakes take out of the freezer to let thaw a little
  8. Place on a plate & serve

~ Enjoy~

*Note: I made mine a bit naughty and served with my homemade Lime Curd but you can top with anything you like. I then sprinkled shredded coconut over the curd and on to the plate!

I would like to thank the beautiful Caralee from Real Food Pledge for this absolutely amazing recipe.

BSig

4 thoughts on “Lime Cheesecake in the Raw

Leave a comment