Choc Mint Ice Cream

Photo Courtesy of Taste

I was in desperate need of ice cream last night and vanilla just wasn’t going to cut it. I have made all different types of fudge to pour over ice cream and Nigella’s chocolate peanut butter is a huge favourite in our household but I wanted something new.

I absolutely love Choc Mint Slices and when I found this recipe for Choc Mint Ice Cream using Mint Slices I just had to make it!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup thickened cream
  • 2 teaspoons peppermint essence
  • green food colouring
  • 2 litres choc-chip or vanilla ice-cream, softened (see note)
  • 200g packet Mint Slice biscuits, chopped

Method

Combine cream and peppermint in a jug. Tint green with food colouring. Add to softened ice-cream. Stir to combine. Fold biscuit through ice-cream mixture. Spoon into tub (see note). Smooth surface. Cover with plastic wrap to prevent ice crystals forming. Freeze overnight or until firm. Remove ice-cream from the freezer 5 minutes before serving.

*Note: to soften ice-cream, place in a large bowl and set aside for 15 minutes.

I ended up churning the mixture in my KitchenAid ice cream bowl.

~ Enjoy ~

2 thoughts on “Choc Mint Ice Cream

  1. OMG, now I want that for dinner! I somehow doubt that I will wait til tomorrow, so will have to settle for crushed mint slice on ice-cream. Am off to Woolies now!

    Thanks for sharing

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

