Blog This Challenge 62 ~ Holidays

Blog This Challenge 62 ~ Holidays! This week’s challenge is to share you favourite holiday photo with everyone! It doesn’t matter how old it is, or how old you were, share it with us and tell us the story behind it!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, out of all the memorable holidays I have had, Fiji has definitely left the biggest mark in my life.

I have blogged a similar photo to the one above before but this one more of a close up of the boat and reminds me of the peacefulness and tranquility of the moment I took the photo. It was late in the afternoon and our friends had just come back from a fishing trip while the Husband and I lazed about on hammocks and played with the resident kitten, Oscar.

This was our last day of a life changing experience that I will never forget. I never really wanted to go to Fiji. I envisaged a country of poverty to be dirty and I was extremely worried about the food.

Our plane landed at night so we didn’t see much from our coach as it hurried through the villages to get us to our resort but what we could see through the tinted windows was an eye opener. Little stalls lined the pitch black streets with dim lights shining on what they were selling. Every now and again the coach would slow to allow herds of cows to cross the roads and dogs would run along side of us as the bus moved around the gigantic pot holes. We were in awe. This was not what I expected at all but it was awesome.

For the 10 days we were there we saw children playing in the rain as if it was the most normal thing to do. White smiles beamed on the Fijian’s faces when you spoke to them. Acknowledging them and giving them more than just a hello was so special for them. We wanted to get to know them and they gave us their world. They made me realise there was more to life than a diamond ring, a brand new car, a bigger house. These people love life even it means living a house that they built with their own hands with a tin roof and walking to work every day.

I cried the day before I left Australia to go to Fiji but I cried even more the day I left to come home. We would stay up every night and talk to our “new friends” telling them about our lives and them sharing their stories with us.

We will visit them again one day soon, we will make sure of it!

*By the way I have never eaten so much food in my life. It was fresh and they knew how to cook 🙂

4 thoughts on “Blog This Challenge 62 ~ Holidays

  1. Ha ha reading that takes me back to my FIJI holiday. I cried on the way over, it was school holidays, I was at boarding school, and mum was staying home to run the business. I was crying cause I was sad she wasn’t coming. When we left FIJI 10 days later, I cried. Because I met some new friends there. When we got home, Bec and I rang the resort to talk to them. They put us on hold while they went to find them. Mum ht the roof when the phone bill arrived!

Leave a Reply

