You Had Me At Hello

Our First Christmas Together ~ 1998

Today may be the 1st July, the start of a new financial year but it also marks 12 years since I met my husband. WOW 12 years! When I say 12 I feel so old, yet to be honest I still feel the same as I did when we first met. Just a little rounder and of course, wiser.

We met, back then, in quite an unconventional way. My life was going in a new direction since the passing of my Step-father. I had made an amazing bond with my Mother, my little brother had just turned 6 and I was helping with the school runs and I made the giant step to move out of home. I think that move was more to help my Mother for what was about to come in a few months time.

I had purchased a computer and with that came the internet revolution. I had found another way to learn and communicate with the world and nothing was going to stop me. One night while I was surfing the net I stumbled across a chat room. This chat room, called Chat House, was designed for people to log in and chat as a group. There are different “rooms” of the house that you could enter depending on how many people you wanted to talk to at one time. I found solace in this place. I met so many people from all different walks of life in all parts of the world. It was what I needed at the time but little did I know this place was going to change my life…completely.

I logged on one night to be greeted by the usual friends I chatted to late at night. It was quite common to find Australian’s in there late at night so we could talk to our worldly friends in America, the UK and even Denmark. That night I was chatting to “Bec” from the UK and we were pretending that we were in a bar and doing the rounds of drinks for everyone. As Bec was passing my drink to me, a total stranger decided to take it. Needless to say I wasn’t impressed with this but let him join in our conversation. A few hours had passed and the usual questions were asked…where do you live? How old are you? What’s your name? blah blah blah. He was getting sick of typing so asked for my phone number seeing we lived in the same country, he being in Queensland and me being in Adelaide. I gave it to him. He was hesitant as he didn’t believe I had given him the right number. I told him to call. He did and we talked all through the night and in to the morning for 7 hours straight.

I was once told by a very wise woman “when you find THE one, you will know” and that night, I just knew! Within 3 months I had packed my bags and moved to Queensland. I have never looked back. As a 21 year old boarding the plane with 3 suitcases and 9 boxes, leaving a completely devoted and close-knit family behind, I began a journey that 12 years later is still going strong.

Happy Anniversary of our Meeting to the love of my life xxx

5 thoughts on “You Had Me At Hello

Leave a Reply

