Sorrow

Perhaps they are not the stars, but rather openings in Heaven where the love of our lost ones pours through and shines down upon us to let us know they are happy.

~ Author Unknown ~

Last week I found out that one of my Uncle’s on my Father’s side passed away. I haven’t seen him since I was a little girl. A complete mix of emotions flooded through me when I read the message from my Cousin saying what had happened. I haven’t had much to do with my Father’s side of the family and a lot of guilt came over me. At my age I am now mature and old enough to stand on my own two feet and make an effort but I haven’t and there are no excuses.

Thank goodness for Facebook. I was contacted a while back by one of my Cousin’s and from there I was connected to Cousin’s and an Aunt who I hadn’t even met before. Even though distance is a factor, I have been able to form a relationship with “my family” that my Father hasn’t really allowed me.

Last night I received another blow. Another Uncle has been very sick and he lost his fight. My Aunty had lost her Brother last week and her Husband last night 😦

I feel extremely distant from them but if I hadn’t had the contact from my Cousin I would never know and I now have the opportunity to be able to get the message through to the family that I do think of them and I do care.

RIP to both my Uncle John’s. I may not have known you both past my adolescent years but the memories I do have of you both are happy one’s. Uncle John O. may you be with Nicole now. After 30 years you finally get to see her again. Uncle John M. you are not in any pain anymore. May you rest at peace!

Leave a Reply

